Posted on

All Corydon trustees, clerk-treasurer reelected

Corydon retained all its town council incumbents yesterday, including two who were challenged by first-time candidates. Three hundred and ten voters went to the polls for the town’s first contested election since 1992.
Roy A. McKim, who holds the Ward 3 seat, and Judy L. Kennedy, from Ward 5, were both challenged but won easily.
McKim, a retired employee of Vermont American Sales in Louisville, received 240 votes. His challenger, Michael G. Bonacum, a Corydon physician, had 65 votes. McKim was appointed to the board 15 years ago.
‘I think people were satisfied with the entire effort of the town board. Overall, I think we have been going in the right direction,’ McKim said last night.
Kennedy garnered 253 votes, while her challenger, William L. Jennings, briefly the town fire chief and a paramedic with Harrison County’s Emergency Medical Services, received 45 votes.
Kennedy was first elected to the Corydon Town Council in 1992. She works at Scansteel Service Center in Jeffersonville,
She said she was surprised by the margin by which she won but hopes it’s an indication that people are pleased with the work council members are doing for the town.
Three other members of the council ‘ long-time president Fred K. Cammack, Rebecca A. Campbell and Charles E. Lynch ‘ were unopposed, as was Clerk-Treasurer Janet L. Frederick. Frederick led the ticket with 283 votes. Cammack is one of the longest-serving town trustees in Indiana. He has served on the Corydon Town Board since 1975.