Posted on

Miles wins by one shot for 33rd club title

Miles wins by one shot for 33rd club title
Miles wins by one shot for 33rd club title
Jack Miles, shown here in the 2002 Old Capital Tournament, won his 33rd club title on Sunday, defeating Jon Mathes of Corydon by one stroke. (File photo by Alan Stewart)

It was another year, another club championship for the unstoppable Jack Miles.
The 2003 edition of the Old Capital Golf Club championship began with Miles trailing Jon Mathes by two strokes, and ended with Miles holding on for a one-shot win thanks to a 33 on the front nine.
That 33 led to Miles’ 33rd title overall, with his first coming at the tender age of 16.
‘I’ve been playing pretty well for the last week, but didn’t think I’d shoot a 33,’ Miles said. ‘On Saturday I didn’t make par until 7th hole. I had five birdies and still only shot par. That’s three bogeys and a double, which makes it even more disappointing that I can make that many birdies and could have been two or three under.’
The first two holes on Sunday got Miles off to a roaring start. He got up and out of a bunker for par on the 421-yard, par-4 hole, and then had a bit of luck on the 194-yard, par-3 second when his tee shot sailed wide right and nearly out of bounds. The ever-calm Miles wasted no time in stamping his charge by chipping the second shot into the middle of the cup.
‘I went from looking at four or a five on that hole and came out with a birdie,’ Miles said. ‘Then I birdied the next one, too.’
But as strong as the champion was on the front nine, Mathes was equally dazzling on the back. Miles pushed his lead to five with just nine holes to go.
‘I kept making pars, which is all I was hoping for, and he was catching me,’ Miles admitted.
Mathes birdied Nos. 10, 12, 15 and 17 while Miles chalked up a bogey on 10 and three-putted on 17 for another bogey.
Heading to the last hole, Miles led by one shot.
The eventual winner, Miles shot 72-70 for the weekend, left his birdie putt hanging on the lip of the cup, giving Mathes a chance to tie for a playoff. The challenger’s birdie putt burned the edge, handing the win to Miles, 142-143.
‘I was lucky,’ Miles said. ‘Jon is a good player. I’ve played against him several times, and I really wasn’t surprised that he played that well.’
Mathes shot a 70 on the first day and 73 on the second. Third place went to Kevin Nash, who saw his score swell from 71 on Saturday to 79 on Sunday for a total of 150. Rounding out the field in the championship flight were Shaunti Fondrisi (152), Bud Bennett (153), Larry Harmon (153), Bill Glass (154), Alan Hess (158), Bob Glordan (159), Kevin Evans (162) and Tim Coffman (166).
On the womens’ side, Betty Palone saved her best round for last and won her first Old Capital Golf Club title. After she and Linda Davis tied on Saturday with 84s, Palone posted an 81 to pick up a five-stroke win, 165-170, over Davis. Lynn Finn was third with a 172.
The winner of the First Flight for the men was Mick Saulman, who had a total of 155. Scott Schmitt was second (158) and Dick Timberlake was third (159).
Michael Kochert took the top spot in the Second Flight with a 169, followed by Wayne Sanders (170) and Ron Timberlake (173).
A 179 was enough for Gary Headrick to snare the win in the Third Flight. Frank Kemp followed with a 181 and Alan Beckman was third with a 182.
The womens’ First Flight was won by Sue Glordan’s 197. Karen Clipp was second after carding a 206.
Championship Flight
Jack Miles 72-70’142
Jon Mathes 70-73’143
Kevin Nash 71-79’150
Shaunti Fondrisi 74-78’152
Bud Bennett 75-78’153
Larry Harmon 77-76’153
Bill Glass 76-78’154
Alan Hess 77-81’158
Bob Glordan 77-82’159
Kevin Evans 77-85’162
Tim Coffman 76-90’166
First Flight
Mick Saulman 79-76’155
Scott Schmitt 81-77’158
Dick Timberlake 83-76’159
Alex Zimmerman 79-81’160
David Smith 83-78’161
Roger Miller 81-81’162
Pat Palone 80-82’162
Bill Davis 82-81’163
Ed Abner 82-83’165
Michael Uhl 81-85’166
Curtis Eskew 83-83’166
Tony Lacey 83-86’169
Jon Kerr 82-93’175
Second Flight
Michael Kochert 85-84’169
Wayne Sanders 84-86’170
Ron Timberlake 85-88’173
Wayne Loney 85-88’173
Kenneth Bailey 90-83’173
Rick Pflanz 90-85’175
Roy Pack 89-88’177
Tom Conway 88-94’182
Allens Gilbert 86-96’182
Jeff Cockerham 90-94’184
Mike Finn 87-103’190
Curt Jordan 85-WD
Butch Stilger 89-WD
Third Flight
Gary Headrick 92-87’179
Frank Kemp 92-89’181
Alan Beckman 93-89’182
Bart Zimmerman 92-92’184
Larry White 92-95’187
Gary Wood 101-92’193
Wayne Darnall 100-98’198
Carl Smith 101-103’204
Marty Cook 106-119’225
John Breeden 92-WD
Monty Miller 95-WD
Melvin Cook 97-WD
Womens Championship Flight
Betty Palone 84-81’165
Linda Davis 84-86’170
Lynn Finn 88-84’172
Monica Harmon 86-95’181
Sharon Miller 87-95’182
Christie Ledford 95-91’186
First Flight
Sue Glordan 99-98’197
Karen Clipp 97-109’206
Barbara Haas 109-111’220
Sandra Kochert 103-122’225
Pat Wood 133-146’279