Posted on

There will be races in six towns

Voters in six Harrison County towns can plan to go to the polls this November to elect town council members and a clerk-treasurer.
With several persons filing as independent or minor party candidates by the noon deadline Monday, elections are necessary in Corydon, Elizabeth, Laconia, Lanesville, Mauckport and Palmyra.
They will be held Tuesday, Nov. 4.
Elections are still possible in Crandall, New Amsterdam and New Middletown if someone files by the remaining deadlines. Those deadlines are noon Aug. 1 to file a declaration of candidacy as a Democrat, Libertarian or Republican, and noon Sept. 15 to file as a write-in candidate. (The first day anyone can file as a write-in candidate is Aug. 6.)
Candidates must file in the Harrison County Circuit Court Clerk’s office, in the county courthouse in Corydon.
If additional candidates of the same party do file by Aug. 1, creating more candidates than seats available, towns will have to have party conventions by Aug. 20.
(Towns of less than 3,500 populations are not required to hold spring primaries.)
In situations where the incumbent has filed but is not challenged, voters will not see those candidates listed on ballots. If an incumbent has not filed to seek reelection and is not challenged, the current officeholder can retain his or her seat.
Persons who filed as an independent or minor party candidate have until noon on July 15 to withdraw. The last day to withdraw as a Democrat, Libertarian or Republican candidate is Aug. 23 at noon; write-in candidates must withdraw by noon on Sept. 15, the same deadline for filing.
The last day to register to vote in the 2003 municipal election is Oct. 6. For more information about how to register, contact Circuit Court Clerk Carole Gaither.
Candidates who already have filed are listed below; incumbents are indicated with an *.
Ward 1 ‘ *Fred K. Cammack
Ward 2 ‘ *Rebecca A. Campbell
Ward 3 ‘ Michael G. Bonacum and *Roy A. McKim
Ward 4 ‘ *Charles E. Lynch
Ward 5 ‘ William L. Jennings and *Judy L. Kennedy
Clerk-treasurer ‘ *Janet L. Frederick
East District ‘ *Christopher A. Fetz Sr.
West District ‘ Walter (Bill) Miller and *Mike W. Sampson
At-large ‘ *Willard M. Haas and Jason Poe
Clerk-treasurer ‘ *Hugh Burns and Brittany Frederick-Haas
Three at-large ‘ *Thomas L. Huckaby, *Joseph E. Kingsley and William E. McKellar (trustee Betty Byrum is not seeking reelection)
Clerk-treasurer ‘ *Nancy H. McKeller
Three at-large ‘ *Herbert L. Schneider and Donald L. Hamblen (trustees Ray Brewer and Carolyn C. Scott did not file to seek reelection)
Clerk-treasurer ‘ *Linda L. Smith
District 1 ‘ no candidates
District 2 ‘ *Robert C. Crosier, *Nancy J. Kirby (who was appointed to fill the District 1 vacancy) and Hobert Pittman
District 3 ‘ *Evelyn Rosbottom
Clerk-treasurer ‘ no candidates (Judy Fleace is not seeking reelection)
District 1 ‘ Virginia Kirkham and *Carol Rowe
District 2 ‘ *Roy (Speedy) McClanahan and Joseph Robbeloth
District 3 ‘ Robert Frederick, *George Morgan, Susan Strange and Betty L. Varble
Clerk-treasurer ‘ *Virginia M. Dale and Cindy L. Galle