Posted on

Schoen, McMillin Players-of-the-Year in SAC, MSC

Last week South Central’s Craig Schoen became the first player ever named Player of the Year in the Southern Athletic Conference a third-straight season.
Schoen, an Indiana All-Star candidate who will attend NCAA Division I David Lipscomb University next season, averaged 22 points an outing this year in leading the Rebels — who won a record fourth consecutive undefeated S.A.C. crown — to a runner-up finish in the Loogootee Class 1A Regional.
In addition to Schoen’s streak, South head coach Greg Robinson set a mark of his own with a record fourth-straight Coach of the Year honor.
The title ties Robinson with Dave Lueking (Austin) and Jim Matthews (New Washington) with most C.O.T.Y. titles overall.
The workout will be divided into two sessions (1 to 3:30 p.m. and 3:30 to 5:30 p.m.) with both sessions open to the public. Twenty-five boys will participate in each session.
Joining Schoen on the first team were junior teammates Brian Mercer and Aaron Vaught, Lanesville’s Nic Acton and Brandon Cook of Borden.
Second-team members were Justin Ferguson of Lanesville, Shane Meadows and Michael Sipe of Henryville, David Allen of Borden and Charles Metz of Crothersville.
For past All-S.A.C. results, go to a comprehensive conference web site constructed by New Washington’s Jeff Wigginton at

Schoen was also picked as one of Hoosier Basketball Magazine’s Top 100 Seniors last week.
This compilation is the result of observation of numerous games during the past season, as well as contact and discussion with coaches, sportswriters and sportscasters throughout Indiana.
The Top 100 list will be used as a guide to come up with the Top 40 seniors, which will be invited along with 10 alternates to take part in Hoosier Basketball’s 15th annual Top 40 Workout on April 7 at Pike High School in Indianapolis.

In addition to possibly playing in the Indiana All-Star game, Schoen has been invited to play in the Reebok North-South All-Star Classic on April 14 at New Albany High School.
The girls game tips off at 2 p.m. and the boys at 4.

Mid-Southern Conference coaches met last week to choose the best of the best among boys and girls basketball players. Among the winners was a sweep by Harrison County coaches as North Harrison’s Missy Voyles and Corydon Central’s Randy Gianfagna were named respective Coach of the Year” for their efforts this season.
Voyles guided her club to a 20-4 mark, which included capturing the Corydon Central 3A Sectional title and an overtime loss in the Jasper regional opener to eventual state-runner up Gibson Southern.
Gianfagna worked his magic to replace a boatload of scoring and rebounding as his Panthers wound up with the North Harrison 3A Sectional crown and a fantastic 17-7 record.
North Harrison junior Kim McMillin was the girls’ M.S.C. Player of the Year while Austin’s Anthony Winchester picked up the top honor on the boys side.
The Lady Cats also had junior Liz Geltmaker and freshman Tara Miller on the first team as well. Corydon Central was represented by junior Colleen Merk on the first team and freshman Dana Beaven as honorable mention.
Other all-conference players were: Amy Herald (Austin), Cassandra Roach (Charlestown), Anglea Newkirk (Salem), Trisha Bennett (Scottsburg), Branda Grangier (Silver Creek) and Candace Bain (Clarksville).
The remainder of the honorable mention field was Kristin Edwards and Ashley Peacock (Scottsburg) and Jenna Rhodes (Silver Creek).
On the boys side, Corydon senior Josh Pruett was the second-leading vote-getter behind Winchester for his All-M.S.C. nomination and junior Quentin Combs was picked as an honorable mention player.
North Harrison junior Chad Nate Miller and sophomore Blake Snodgrass were slated as first-team selections as well.
Other all-M.S.C. members were: Brian Johnson (Austin), Clint Waskom and Marty Young (Brownstown), Daniel Watson (Scottsburg), Frank Inman (Silver Creek), and Evan Potter and Dwayne Guenther (Salem).
Clarksville’s David Hatton, Scottsburg’s Brian Roberts and Silver Creek’s Josh Lanham were also all-M.S.C. honorable mention.