• Leslie Williams
  • Sheriff's tipline
  • Faith-Ingle-Smith 2
  • Faith-Ingle-Smith 3
  • Faith-Ingle-Smith 1
Tue, Oct 21, 2014 04:47 AM
Issue of October 15, 2014

Read Ross
Read Ross
County government gives beat writer Ross Schulz so much to write about, it can't ALL possibly fit in the newspaper, so we've made room here for that and whatever else he wants to blog about.

Yoder, other candidates take part in Farm Bureau event

November 01, 2012 | 03:15 PM

Shelli Yoder, the Democrat candidate for the Ninth Congressional seat, returned to Harrison County Tuesday evening for the Harrison County Farm Bureau Meet the Candidates event a night after participating in a debate, at Corydon Central High School, with incumbent Republican Todd Young.

The meet-the-candidates event took place at the Farm Bureau office along Federal Drive in Corydon.

Yoder said her campaign is of the grassroots, throw-back variety of going door-to-door and attending any event she can.

Yoder's effort can't be denied, as it marked the third appearance in four days for Yoder in the county (she also attended Halloween events Saturday evening in Corydon).

Young did not attend the meet-the-candidates event, where candidates were given a brief amount of time to tell the audience about themselves or their plans, if elected.

The event began like a football game, with host Peter J. Schickel flipping a coin in front of Harrison County party chairs Scott Fluhr, Republican, and Barbara Black, Democrat, to determine which party's candidates would speak first in their respective races.

All candidates for Harrison County races, state or national races that Harrison Countians vote for were welcome to speak.

The Indiana District 70 representative race features incumbent Republican Rhonda Rhoads and Democrat Terry Miller. Miller attended and spoke at the event.

Both candidates from the District 73 race, Sandra Blanton (Democrat) and incumbent Steve Davisson (Republican) were in attendance.

Candidates for Harrison County offices who participated included: Commissioner District 1 — James Goldman (Democrat incumbent) and George Ethridge (Republican); Commissioner District 2 — Kenny Saulman (Republican) and Scott Hussung (Democrat); County Council at-large — Jim Heitkemper (Republican incumbent), Sherry Brown (Republican), Marion (M.E.) Wallace (Republican), Leslie Robertson (Democrat) and Pat Wolfe (Democrat); Surveyor — Harold Klinstiver (Republican who is finishing the term of the late Thomas O. Bube) and Steve Haggard (Democrat); Recorder — Barbara Best (Republican incumbent) and Debby Mathes (Democrat); and Circuit Court Clerk, Sally Whitis (Republican).

Ross Schulz

Schuler Bauer Real Estate
Riggs Towing
Debby Broughton
Best Built
Alberto's Italian Restaurant
Barbara Shaw
Corydon Instant Print

Corydon Democrat, 301 N. Capitol Ave., Corydon, IN 47112 1-812-738-2211 email