• Faith-Ingle-Smith 1
  • Sheriff's tipline
  • Leslie Williams
  • 2014GOP-Schalk, Seelye, Claypool
  • 2014obama
Fri, Oct 31, 2014 02:17 AM
Issue of October 22, 2014
Email Link

Corydon, NH learn football tourney draw

October 16, 2013 | 10:37 AM

A new format for a record 322 teams is set as the pairings were announced Sunday for the 41st annual IHSAA Football State Tournament presented by the Indianapolis Colts.

Sectionals featuring local teams are as follows:

Class 3A Sectional 31

Game 1: Brownstown Central (8-0) at Washington (0-8); Game 2: North Harrison (4-4) at Mitchell (1-7); Game 3: Brown County (5-3) at Salem (4-4); Game 4: Corydon Central (6-2) at Charlestown (5-3); Game 5: Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2; Game 6: Winner of Game 3 vs. Winner of Game 4; Game 7: Championship

Class 2A Sectional 39

Game 1: Paoli (6-2) at Eastern (Pekin) (2-6); Game 2: Crawford County (1-7) at Clarksville (0-8); Game 3: Triton Central (6-2) at Milan (4-4); Game 4: Indianapolis Manual (0-8) at Providence (5-3); Game 5: Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2; Game 6: Winner of Game 3 vs. Winner of Game 4; Game 7: Championship

Among the games in Sectional 31, Corydon Central gets a rematch against Charlestown. The Pirates won the regular season meeting, 35-0, on Oct. 4. North Harrison, meanwhile, has been one of the hottest teams within the sectional, winning three games in a row, while Mitchell has one win (vs. Crawford County).

Crawford County drew winless Clarksville, but the Generals lead the series against the Wolfpack, 4-0. The last meeting came in 2010 (Clarksville won 21-8).

For the first time, Class 6A will be used for the 32 largest schools in the state. With all eight of those sectionals including four teams each, sectional semifinal games will be played Oct. 25, sectional championship games on Nov. 1 followed by regionals on Nov. 8 and semi-states on Nov. 15.

Teams in classes 4A, 3A, 2A and 1A will begin with first-round sectional games on Oct. 25 and will play on consecutive weeks all the way to the state championship games as they have in previous years.

The state finals take place on Nov. 29 and 30 at Lucas Oil Stadium.

Debby Broughton
Alberto's Italian Restaurant
2014GOP-Jim Klinstiver
Riggs Towing
Barbara Shaw
Best Built
Schuler Bauer Real Estate
2014 GOP-Seelye
2014GOP-Don't Get Tricked
Corydon Instant Print
RSS Feed

Corydon Democrat, 301 N. Capitol Ave., Corydon, IN 47112 1-812-738-2211 email