• Leslie Williams
  • Faith-Ingle-Smith 2
  • Sheriff's tipline
  • 2014GOP-Schalk, Seelye, Claypool
  • Faith-Ingle-Smith 1
Sat, Nov 01, 2014 02:47 AM
Issue of October 29, 2014
Email Link

School board races include incumbents, several new faces

August 27, 2014 | 08:47 AM

The field is set for the school board elections for all three Harrison County school districts, with a number of challengers and incumbents ready for the Nov. 4 General Election.

The deadline to file as a candidate was Friday at noon.

Incumbents running for re-election on the South Harrison Community School Corp. Board of Trustees are Karen S. Lopp and Mary Jean Mathes, District 2; they are challenged by Steven C. Duley and David Whittington. The District 1 seat, held by Joyce E. Bliss, will be contested between Pamela D. Carmichael and Diana Sailor. Bliss did not sign up to run for re-election. The District 5 will also see a new face, as incumbent Vickie Engleman will not run. The candidates for that seat are Chester O. Budd and Barbara Smith.

In the North Harrison Community School Corp., three board seats are up for grabs with the incumbent running in each: Jackson Township seat, incumbent Marla Adams challenged by Stanley Jo Byrum; Spencer Township seat, incumbent Steve Hanger is unopposed; and the at-large seat, incumbent Veronica J. Sieg Battista will be challenged by George (Randy) Southern.

The Lanesville Community School Corp. board has two seats on the ballot, currently held by Donnie Hussung and Ronald Wolfe. Hussung cannot be on the ballot because he's running for the District 2 county council seat. Wolfe will be joined on the ballot by Jaycen Abell and Margaret E. Meyer.

2014 GOP-Seelye
Schuler Bauer Real Estate
Alberto's Italian Restaurant
Barbara Shaw
Best Built
2014GOP-Jim Klinstiver
Riggs Towing
Debby Broughton
2014GOP-Don't Get Tricked
Corydon Instant Print
RSS Feed

Corydon Democrat, 301 N. Capitol Ave., Corydon, IN 47112 1-812-738-2211 email