• 2014GOP-Schalk, Seelye, Claypool
  • Sheriff's tipline
  • 2014obama
  • Faith-Ingle-Smith 2
  • Faith-Ingle-Smith 3
Sat, Nov 01, 2014 02:08 AM
Issue of October 29, 2014
Email Link
After the town received the 2014 Community Legacy Award, Corydon Town Council President Fred Cammack shakes the hand of Leslie Townsend, center, of Historic Southern Indiana. Looking on, from left, are council member Roger McGraw, Karen Schwartz, president of the Historical Society of Harrison County, and council member Mark L. Parks. Photo by Alan Stewart

Corydon honored for 'admirable job'

June 18, 2014 | 02:39 PM

The Town of Corydon received the 2014 Community Legacy Award from Historic Southern Indiana at the regular meeting of the Corydon Town Council on June 9.

Historic Southern Indiana is a community outreach program of the University of Southern Indiana. The award recognizes a community that "has done an admirable job in the areas of heritage tourism, preservation and sense of place."

As the recipient of the award, the town received a plaque from Leslie Townsend and will receive a check for $1,000.

Vi Eckart, director of the Harrison County Public Library, completed the application, which had to show how a town has accomplished historic preservation, downtown revitalization or restoration, used planning and zoning through billboard or sign ordinances, shared vision as a special place, has a historical society, museum, archives and/or a published history and has heritage-related festivals or other special events.

Eckart completed the application with the help of the Historical Society of Harrison County and its president, Karen Schwartz.

"We're coming up on the big celebration in 2016 and everything else that's going on here in Corydon and trying to get a museum and all of the things that the town has done, we got the application together. Karen basically wrote it. I endorsed it," Eckart said. "The application said to talk about whatever you want to talk about but keep it less than four pages long."

"That was really hard to do," Schwartz said.

Eckart then showed four full, single-spaced pages to the audience before giving way to Townsend, who explained why Corydon received the award. She said one of the things that stood out was the collaborative nature of the community and how so many organizations work together on projects in the town.

"It was hard to trim this history of Harrison County to only four pages, but we did what we had to do," Schwartz said.

Megan Glenn of Historic Southern Indiana notified Eckart a couple of months ago about Corydon winning the award.

Shoals won the award in 2013, and other past recipients include Aurora (2004), Bedford and Ferdinand (2010), Jeffersonville (2005), Madison and New Albany (2006), Newburgh (2012), New Harmony (2008), Orleans (2002), Rising Sun, Tell City (2011) and West Baden Springs.

Historic Southern Indiana was created in 1986 to serve the southern 26 counties of Indiana. Its goals are to identify, preserve, protect, enhance and promote the historical, natural and recreational resources of the region. It seeks to implement those goals through programs in historic preservation, history education, heritage tourism, community development and scenic byways.

Twitter: @_alanstewart

Schuler Bauer Real Estate
Barbara Shaw
Riggs Towing
2014GOP-Don't Get Tricked
2014 GOP-Seelye
Debby Broughton
Alberto's Italian Restaurant
Best Built
2014GOP-Jim Klinstiver
Corydon Instant Print
RSS Feed

Corydon Democrat, 301 N. Capitol Ave., Corydon, IN 47112 1-812-738-2211 email